Primary Health Organisations (PHOs) are local not for profit organisation set up by the Ministry of Health to coordinate the delivery of primary care services (community-based care) to local populations.

  • provide care and treatment when people are ill
  • help people stay healthy
  • ensure care reaches those people in the community with poor health, and who are missing out on health care
  • PHOs bring together the entire range of health professionals who are involved in providing community health care, to make sure everyone in the community is able to access whatever aspect of care they need as quickly and easily as possible.
  • subsidise doctor’s visits
  • reduce prescription costs
  • run health promotion programmes
  • develop innovative ways of improving the uptake of services to reduce health inequalities in their populations

More detailed information on the structure and funding of PHOs can be found on the Ministry of Health website.

Why enrol at one of the CPHO general practices? Enrolment:

  • Ensures that the practice has the information that they need to make everything more convenient for you when you visit.
  • Confirms the relationship that you have with your medical practice team and means that you nominate them to as your regular health care provider.
  • Assists the PHO to build better health services that are tailored to your needs and those of your family and community.
  • Means that the general practice team are responsible for contacting you about your health care, like follow up appointments.

Enrolment is voluntary.

You will need to fill out an enrolment form, available from the general practice receptionist, and may be asked for additional information that will confirm your eligibility to receive subsidised health care.

If you are already enrolled at another practice and you wish to change to a new practices, the doctor will request that any medical records be transferred over to the new practice.

Enrolment lasts for three years from the date of enrolment.

If you have not seen the Doctor you are enrolled with, within a three year period, your practice will contact you to confirm your enrolment.

If you do not reconfirm your enrolment within three years your enrolment will expire.

If you are travelling overseas and intend to be out of the country for more than six months change your contact details or move to another practice please let your medical practice know so that they can update your enrolment status.

All general practices have to abide by the regulations set out in the Health Information Privacy Code 1994.

To ensure that you get the best care possible some information (excluding things that you request remain confidential and your patient file) may be shared with other health organisations including:

  • MOH for funding purposes
  • District Health Boards to help with planning and funding of health services.

Sharing of information assists:

  • CPHO to design and implement health services that meet the needs of their enrolled population
  • The general practice to coordinate your care and to claim for government subsidies on your behalf which may pay for some of your care.

Christchurch PHO Board and Clinical Governance Group

Clinical Governance 5.30 pm to 6.30 pm
Board 6.30 pm to 8.30 pm

General rule – first Monday of the month unless it falls on a public holiday in which case meetings are held on an alternative Monday.

3rd February 2020
2nd March 2020
6th April 2020
4th May 2020
8th June 2020
6th July 2020
3rd August 2020
7th September 2020
5th October 2020
2nd November 2020 includes AGM
7th December 2020

Clinical Governance Group (CGG)

Body Name Roll
CGG Neil Beumelburg GP Representative
CGG Tearlach MacLean GP Representative
CGG Jason Pryke GP Representative
CGG Joanne Comper Clinical Pharmacist Representative
CGG Kirsten Carey Practice Nurse Representative
CGG & Board Angus Chambers GP Representative and Chair
CGG & Board Joan Allardyce GP Representative and Deputy Chair
CGG & Board Rachel Brennan Practice Nurse Representative
CGG & Board Ana Rolleston Maori Representative
Board David Jones General Practice Representative
Board Sharon McFarlane Community Representative
Board Michelle Turrall Maori Representative


Scroll to top